Startseite
Bild

napp-it-zfs


featurelist


A napp-it ZFS Storageserver includes many features of expensive High-End storagesystems like realtime checksums on data and metadata with online scrubbing, CopyOnWrite with snaps and sophisticated readcaches in RAM and on SSDs (Hybridstorage).

Features of napp-it (overview): Featuresheet.pdf

Service relevant features

  • Solaris and free derivates like OmniOS are specialized and developed around ZFS for bootsystem and datapools.
    Together with the commercial use for many years this results in a very stable and  sophisticated ZFS storage system. New ZFS features are done beside Oracle from Illumos and included in OmniOS quite fast.
  • Filebased sharing (AFP, FTP, NFS, SMB or WWW) as a filesystem property
  • Kernelbased SMB high performance server with Windows Share/File level ACL, Snaps as Windows previous version and AD integration. Unique support for Windows ACL with Windows SMB groups and AD or Server based security id's (SID) as ZFS file attributes. (SAMBA is optional but does not support Windows SID as a file-attribute)
  • Blockbased shares (MPIO, iSCSI, FC) either with the universal Comstar framework or as filesystem zvol property.
  • Network virtualisation with Crossbow for virtual switches and virtual network adapters on vlans.
  • Blockbased highspeed filesystem replication locally or over the network.with zfs send/ netcat in wirespeed with all relevant attributes like ACL, Windows SIDs or shares. After the initial transfer only modified datablocks are transferred based on snapshots. This allows near realtime replication of filesystems over the network.


Filesystem relevant features

  • No relevant limits regarding capacity, number of disks or filesystems or files or folders.
  • ZFS is designed for best of all data security and performance with hundreds od disks and Petabyte storage.
  • Always consistent filesystems due CopyOnWrite (even on a crash during a write, no offline chkdsk needed)
  • Data versioning with read-only snapshots. Nearly unlimited snapshots can be created without significant delay or initial space consumption due CopyOnWrite allowing revision safe storages.
  • Always verified data with end to end checksums on OS Level on data and metadata. With redundancy all errors are repaired during read or on regular online scrubs. This allows safe long term storages with ZFS.
  • Poolbased Storage Virtualisation with dynamically sized filesystems. Management is done with reservations and quotas. Volumemanagement is part of ZFS.
  • Transparent compression without performance degrations due the LZ4 compressor and realtime deduplication.
  • Windows compatible NFS4 ACL with inheritance. Case (in)sensitive or mixed filesystems selectable.
  • Secure sync write on filesystem level selectable to avoid dataloss on powerloss. Optionally you can add a highspeed dram (ZeusRAM) or SSD based logdevice (ZIL) to ensure secure writes without a performance degration.
  • Small random writes are collected in a RAM write cache and transformed to large and fast sequential writes. This improves write and general I/O performace.
  • In addition to the ARC Read Cache that caches data in free RAM you can use SSDs as L2ARC cache.  The sophisticated ARC/L2ARC is highly optimized and works on datablocks. (Hybrid Storage to accelerate disk based storage).


Raid-relevant features

  • Storage from several vdevs (Raid-arrays) is managed as a datapool. You can extend the pool by adding vdevs/ raid-arrays.
  • Controller independent Software Raid. You can import a pool on any supported controller even on other Operating systems. You do not need special hardware raid controllers with CPU, Cache or BBU. Best are simple HBA controllers in raidless IT-mode.
  • No write hole problems like with Raid 5/6 where a powerloss can lead to a corrupted filesystem. Supported Raid levels are Raid 0,  1, n-way-mirror, Z1, Z2, Z3. ZFS reads from all mirrors simultaniously and stripes data over vdevs/ raid-arrays like a multi-raid-60. With Z1 a single disk failure is allowed similar to Raid-5. Z3 allows a 3 disk failure per vdev without a dataloss.
  • No problem with multiple short disconnects of several disks in a raid due to cable or power problems. This leads only to a short degraded or offline state. If enough disks come back the pool goes online without the need of a raid-rebuild or offline chkdsk.
  • Hot-Spare disks. Failed disks are replaced automatically with hot-spares.
  • Raid-Management is integtrated in ZFS
  • Sequential performance on  ZFS scales very well with total number of data-disks in a pool.
  • I/O performance of ZFS scales very good with number of vdevs in a pool. With SSD only pools you can easily reach thousands of I/O per second with very low latencies. This allows high performance pools for database or ESXi use.


Other features

  • All from one hand. Beside OSX and Windows, Solaris and its free derivates are the only operating systems "from one hand". All what is needed for a storage server with all services like NFS, SMB or iSCSI is maintained from Oracle for Solaris or Illumos for the free Solaris derivates and not different/maintained on distributions. Dies gives you a very homogenous handling compared to other platforms like Linux.
  • Easy setup within minutes (one command after OS installation) with Web-UI for the whole storage management with job-management for own jobs, scrbbing, snaps, replication or status/alert emails. 
  • nonfree extensions for ACL management, Monitoring or Remote Replication.

  • Napp-it  supports Linux  basically (Debian, Ubuntu LTS) with ZFS management and remote replication.
  • Active Active HA is optionally available from high-availability.com
napp-it 25.03.2017

Startseite
Bild

napp-it-zfs


featurelist


Ein napp-it ZFS Storageserver enthält viele Eigenschaften teurer High-End Systeme wie beispielsweise Echtzeit-Prüfsummen auf Daten und Metadaten mit online scrubbing, Copy On Write mit Snapshots und intelligente Lesecaches im RAM und auf SSD.

Service relevante Eigenschaften

  • Solaris und freie Derivate wie OmniOS sind spezialisiert auf ZFS als Dateisystem für das System und die Datenpools.
    Dadurch und durch kommerziellen Einsatz seit Jahren ist ZFS auf Solaris und den freien Derivaten sehr stabil und ausgereift.. Neue Entwicklungen bei ZFS erfolgen im Wesentlichen neben Oracle bei Illumos uns sind damit sehr schnell in OmniOS enthalten.
  • Filebasierte Dateifreigaben (AFP, FTP, NFS, SMB oder WWW) als Eigenschaft des Dateisystems
  • Kernel-SMB high performance Server mit Windows Share/File ACL, Snaps als vorherige Version unter Windows und AD Integration. Einzigartige Unterstützung von Windows ACLs mit Windows SMB groups sowie Windows AD/ Server Security IDs (SID) als ZFS Fileattribute. (SAMBA ist optional bietet die Speicherung von Windows SIDs aber nicht)
  • Blockbasierte Freigaben (MPIO, iSCSI, FC) entweder über das universelle Comstar Framework oder als Eigenschaft des Dateisystems 
  • Netzwerkvirtualisierung durch Crossbox mit virtuellen Switches und virtuelle Netzwerkkarten in Vlans.
  • Blockbasierte Highspeed Dateisystemreplikation lokal oder im Netz mit Wire-Performance über zfs send/netcat  inkl aller relevanten Dateisystemeigenschaften wie Shares, ACLs oder Windows SIDs als Datenstrom. Nach initialem Transfer werden nur noch Änderungen auf Basis von Snaps übertragen. Damit lassen sich Dateisysteme nahe Echtzeit syncron halten.


Dateisystem relevante Eigenschaften

  • Keine relevante Grenzen hinsichtlich max. Kapazität, Platten, Anzahl Dateisysteme, Dateien oder Verzeichnisse.
  • ZFS ist ausgelegt auf maximale Datensicherheit und Performance mit hunderten Festplatten und Petabyte Storage.
  • Immer konsistentes Dateisysteme dank Copy On Write (auch bei Absturz beim Schreiben, kein offline chkdsk nötig)
  • Daten-Versionierung durch read-only Snapshots. Snapshots in nahezu beliebiger Anzahl werden ohne anfänglichen Platzverbrauch oder größeren Zeitverlust angelegt und sind damit auch geeignet für revisionssicheren Storage.
  • Immer verifizierte Daten mit End to End Prüfsummen auf OS Ebene auf Daten und Metadaten. Mit Redundanz werden Fehler beim Lesen oder regelmäßigen Online-Scrubs automatisch repariert. ZFS ist damit für Langzeitarchivierung geeignet.
  • Poolbasierte Storage Virtualisierung mit in der Größe dynamischen Dateisystemen. Verwaltung mit Reservierungen und Quotas.
    Volumemanagement ist in ZFS integriert.
  • Transparente Datenkomprimierung ohne relevante Performanceeinbußen durch LZ4 und Echtzeit Deduplikation.
  • Windows kompatible NFS4-ACL inkl Vererbung der ACL. Case (in)sensitive/mixed Dateisysteme wählbar.
  • Sicheres Sync-Write auf Dateisystemebene einschaltbar um einen Datenverlust z.B. bei Stromausfall zu vermeiden.
    Optional kann dem Pool ein High-Speed Log-Device als SSD oder DRAM Disk z.B. ZeusRAM (ZIL) hinzugefügt werden damit sicheres Schreiben ohne Performanceeinbruch möglich wird.
  • Kleine zufällige Schreibvorgänge werden mit Hilfe eines RAM-Schreib-Caches in große schnelle sequentielle Schreibvorgänge gewandelt. Dies verbessert die generelle I/O Leistung des Pools und beschleunigt Random-Writes.
  • Ergänzend zum fortschrittlichen ARC-RAM-Lesecache der den freien RAM nutzt,  können SSDs als L2ARC Lesecache benutzt werden. Der Cache arbeitet hochoptimiert auf Datenblockebene (Hybrid-Storage zur Beschleunigung von plattenbasierten Pools)


Raid-relevante Eigenschaften

  • Speicher aus mehreren vdevs (Raid-Array) wird als Pool verwaltet. Pool kann um weitere vdevs/Raid Arrays erweitert werden.
  • Controller unabhängiges Software Raid. Ein Pool ist an beliebig anderen Controllern importierbar (über Betriebssysteme hinweg).
    Raid-Controller mit CPU, Cache oder Batterien werden nicht benötigt. Ideal sind einfache HBA Plattencontroller ohne Intelligenz.
  • Kein Write-Hole Problem wie bei Raid 5/6 die bei Stromausfall korrupte Dateisysteme hinterlassen können. Unterstützte Raid Level sind Raid 0, 1, n-way Mirror, Z1, Z2, Z3. ZFS liest von allen Mirror-Platten gleichzeitig und striped Daten über vdevs/Raid Arrays wie ein Multi-Raid-60. Bei Z1 darf wie bei Raid-5 eine Platte ohne Datenverlust ausfallen. Bei Raid-Z3 sind bis zu drei Ausfälle pro vdev ohne Datenverlust erlaubt.
  • Kein Problem mit mehrfachem kurzzeitigen Ausfall mehrerer Raid-Platten z.B. durch Kabelprobleme. Dies führt lediglich zu einem kurzen Degraded/ Offline. Sind genügend Platten wieder online ist der Pool wieder ohne rebuild or offline chkdsk verfügbar.
  • Hot-Spare Platten. Bei einem Ausfall werden ausgefallene Platten automatisch ersetzt.
  • Raid-Management ist in ZFS integriert
  • Sequentielle Performance bei ZFS skaliert sehr gut mit der Anzahl der Datenplatten eines Pools.
  • I/O Performance skaliert bei ZFS sehr gut mit der Anzahl der vdevs eines Pools. Bei Eisatz von reinen SSD Pools werden I/O Leistungen von mehreren Tausen I/O pro Sekunde bei geringsten Latenzen erreicht.


Sonstige Eigenschaften

  • Alles aus einer Hand. Neben OSX und Windows sind Solaris und die daraus entstandenen freien Derivate "komplett aus einer Hand". Alles was zu einem Storageserver gehört, inkl filebasierten NFS und SMB Serverdiensten sowie iSCSI sind Bestandteil der Kernelentwicklung bei Oracle für Solaris oder Illumos für die freien Derivate und damit nicht abhängig von einer Distribution. Dies führt zu einer wesentliche homogeneren Bedienung im Vergleich z.B. zu Linux.
  • Einfaches Setup (Ein Befehl nach OS Installation)  inkl. Webmanagement für das komplette Storagemanagement mit Jobverwaltung für eigene Jobs, Replikation, Scrubbing, Snapshots und email-Alert und Status Mails.
  • kostenpflichtige Extensions für ACL Management, Monitoring und Remote Replication.

  • Linux wird von napp-it grundlegend unterstützt (Debian und Ubuntu LTS) inkl ZFS management und remote ZFS Replikation.
  • Active Active HA ist optional verfügbar von high-availability.com
napp-it 26.01.2016